Regular Meeting 13 July 2021

State of New Mexico
Music Commission
Regular Meeting

13 July 2021
via Zoom


I. Call to order : Carlos Medina, Music Commission Chair

II. Introduction of newly-appointed Music Commissioner : Sara Diaz of Santa Fe

III. Roll Call

IV. Introductions : Commissioners and Invited Speakers

V. Consider approving the agenda : ACTION by roll call vote

VI. Consider approving 13 April 2021 minutes : ACTION by roll call vote

VII. Executive update

a. Department of Cultural Affairs : Jane Egan, Special Assistant to Secretary Garcia y Griego

b. New Mexico Arts : Michelle Laflamme-Childs, NMA Executive Director

c. New Mexico Arts Commission : Nancy Cooper, Arts Commissioner and NMMC Liaison

d. New Mexico Music Commission : Carlos Medina, NMMC Chair and Executive Committee Chair

VIII. Committee update

a.  Development : Commissioner Tom Frouge, Development Committee Chair

b.  Education : Commissioner Dustin Seifert, Education Outreach Committee Chair

i. Student Musician Spotlight update

ii. Education Outreach Committee program proposal

c.  Production : Commissioner Buddy Abeyta, Production Committee Chair

i. Art2Art update for Bernalillo, Sandoval, and Santa Fe counties

IX. Rural County Outreach update ~ 2 gratis service projects per county during 2021

a. Commissioner Buddy Abeyta : Mora | San Juan

b. Commissioner Jir Anderson : Hildago | Rio Arriba

c. Commissioner Sara Diaz : Harding | Luna

d. Commissioner Tom Frouge : Colfax | Taos

e. Commissioner Keith Langerman : Sierra | Socorro

f. Commissioner Derrick Lee : DeBaca | Union

g. Commissioner Busy McCarroll : Eddy | Los Alamos

h. Commissioner Carlos Medina : San Miguel | Quay

i. Commissioner D’Santi Nava : Cibola | Guadalupe

j. Commissioner Jose Ponce : Chaves | Lea

k. Commissioner Jennifer Rogers : Doña Ana | Otero

l. Commissioner Dustin Seifert : Curry | Roosevelt

m. Commissioner Neil Swapp : Catron | Grant ~ Silver HS Brass Master Class March 2021

n. Commissioner Tracey Whitney : Torrance

o. Commissioner Zenobia : Lincoln | McKinley | Valencia

X. Formation of ad hoc Strategic Planning committee : Commissioner Diaz, Chair

XI. Foundation update : Phil Moon, Director New Mexico Music Commission Foundation

XII. Adjournment : Medina

*     *     *

Regular Meeting Calendar

Committee Meetings