

new mexico arts, department of cultural affairs 407 galisteo street, suite 270, santa fe nm 87501 505.827.6454 (phone) 1.800.879.4278 (instate) 505.827.6043 (fax) www.newmexicomusic.org

Meeting Minutes 12 January 2021 Approved 13 April 2021

I. Roll call and introductions

Chair Carlos Medina called the regular meeting of the New Mexico Music Commission to order Tuesday 11 January 2021 at 1:05pm mst by Zoom. In attendance, Commissioners Buddy Abeyta, Jir Anderson, Tom Frouge, Keith Langerman, Derrick Lee, Busy McCarroll, Carlos Medina, D'Santi Nava, Jose Ponce, Jennifer Rogers, Dustin Seifert, Neil Swapp, Tracey Whitney, Zenobia, and Administrator Thomas Goodrich (non-voting commission member). Also in attendance: Melissa Sanchez, Jane Egan, Michelle Laflamme-Childs, Chris Moander, David Schwartz, Nancy Cooper, Jenice Gharib. Medina invited speakers to introduce themselves.

II. Consider approving agenda

Chair Medina invited commissioners to review the meeting agenda. Commissioner Ponce moved to approve the agenda, Commissioner Anderson seconded the motion, and the agenda was approved by unanimous roll call vote.

III. Consider approving minutes

Chair Medina invited commissioners to review minutes from the November 2020 regular meeting and opened the floor for changes. No changes were submitted. Medina moved to approve the minutes, Commissioner Abeyta seconded the motion, and the minutes were approved by unanimous roll call vote.

IV. Officer elections

Chair Medina reviewed Roberts Rules of Order for elections and opened the floor for nominations. *Vice-Chair*: Commissioner Lee nominated Commissioner Rogers. Commissioner Frouge seconded the nomination. Commissioners Rogers accepted. Rogers was elected Vice-Chair by unanimous roll call vote. *Secretary*: Commissioner Frouge nominated Commissioner Ponce. Commissioner Ponce declined. No other nominations were put forward. Assistant Attorney General Moander reminded commissioners' officer positions are required by the commission's bylaws and must be filled. Commissioner Abeyta self-nominated. Commissioner Ponce seconded the nomination. Commissioner Abeyta was elected secretary by unanimous roll call vote.

V. Formation of executive committee

Medina stated the executive committee will consist of 5 members: Chair Medina, Vice-Chair Rogers, Secretary Abeyta, and two members-at-large. Medina stated his hope that the chairs of the new adinterim committees (next agenda item) would be a part of the executive committee in order to facilitate communication between the committees.

VI. Formation of ad-interim committees

Administrator Goodrich stated the commission is tasked with developing its new strategic plan by committee. Ad-interim committees will be set up to create the new plan and to administer current commission projects until the plan is adopted January 2022. Ad-interim committees are: Education, Development, and Production. Each committee will have a chair and a secretary. Chair Medina stressed the importance of every commissioner serving on a committee because most of the work of the commission will take place at the committee level. *Education Committee*: Chair Medina appointed

Commissioner Seifert committee chair. Commissioners Rogers, Swapp, and Nava expressed interest in serving on the education committee. *Development Committee*: Chair Medina appointed Commissioner Frouge committee chair. Commissioners Whitney, McCarroll, Anderson, and Langerman expressed interest in serving on the development committee. *Production Committee*: Chair Medina appointed Commissioner Abeyta committee chair. Commissioners Zenobia, McCarroll, Whitney, and Anderson expressed interest in serving on the committee.

VII.Federal funding allocated to the NMMC by NM Arts

Jenice Gharib, Grants Program and Policy Director of NM Arts, announced allocation of \$10,000 to the NMMC to be used for artist fees by 31 December 2022. She entertained Q&A from commissioners regarding funding requirements. Chair Medina invited the production committee to consider how to spend funding. Gharib introduced the NM Tour program that funds NM musicians playing in rural non-profit venues. She entertained Q&A from commissioners regarding NM Tour. Chair Medina advised the production committee will work with Gharib to flesh out NM Tour, create/implement branding, application process, requirements, etc.

VIII.Rural county outreach initiative

Administrator Goodrich stated the purpose of the new initiative is to facilitate the commission's outreach to the state's rural areas. Commissioners shall adopt two counties. All meetings and projects will take place digitally, due to COVID. Commissioners are tasked with researching the music industry in each county, reaching out to community leaders in the counties and cities, planning programming in each each county, and submitting a project proposal to the executive committee. Goodrich stated funding is available to pay musicians to perform for projects, but must be processed through a 501c3 receiving grant funding from NM Arts. Funding is limited to \$200 per county. Events shall be live-streamed or pre-recorded. Commissioners' shall submit a post-event report to the executive committee. Commissioners discussed the number of service projects and agreed to deliver two service projects in each county during the 2021 calendar year. Commissioners negotiated adoption of counties. 30 counties were adopted. The Albuquerque-Santa Fe urban corridor counties of Bernalillo, Sandoval, and Santa Fe were excluded from the rural county outreach initiative. Instead, the production committee will produce Art2Art programs in those counties.

IX. Support of the music industry during COVID-19

Commissioner Frouge discussed the state of New Mexico's music industry as it begins to reopen. He mentioned the NIVA (National Independent Venue Association) save our stages program as a valuable resource and stressed the need for the State to provide online resources for artists affected by COVID. New Mexico Arts Executive Director Michelle Laflamme-Childs shared New Mexico Arts has implemented regulations for COVID-safe practices but is seeking input on how to move forward during the pandemic.

X. 2021 Open Meetings Act resolution

Assistant Attorney General Moander reviewed the Open Meetings Act resolution. Chair Medina moved to accept the resolution, Commissioner Rogers seconded the motion and the resolution was accepted by unanimous roll call vote.

XI. NMMC Foundation update

David Schwartz, NMMCF President, stated the annual Platinum Music Awards is on hold due to COVID and the loss of their development director. The foundation is waiting to see how it can best serve the commission.

Meeting adjourned 3:50pm. Next meeting 13 April 2021 by Zoom until further notice.

Submitted by NMMC Secretary Ponce