New Mexico Music Commission

promoting New Mexico's rich and diverse music heritage



Orientation 3 | Officers and Committees

Officers

The Commission has three officers:

Chair

The Chair is selected by and serving at the pleasure of the Governor. The Chair shall preside at all meetings and shall appoint Chairs and members of all committees including the Executive Committee, the Events Committee, the Idea Review Committee, and the Education Outreach Committee. Commissioner **Carlos Medina** was appointed Chair by Governor Lujan Grisham September 2020.

Vice-Chair

The Vice-Chair is elected at the annual meeting in January by a majority vote of the Commission members present. The Vice-Chair shall, in the event of the absence or incapacity of the Chair, exercise all powers and duties of the Chair during such absence or incapacity. The Vice-Chair office is currently vacant.

Secretary

The Secretary is elected at the annual meeting in January by a majority vote of the Commission members present. The Secretary shall take office at the annual meeting at which they are elected. The Secretary shall call the roll at each Commission meeting and shall cause the minutes of each meeting to be kept. Commissioner **José Ponce** is Secretary and has held the position for several years.

Officer Oversight

Chair and Vice-Chair

The Commission may, by a two-thirds majority of the Commissioners present at a regular meeting of the Commission, recommend to the Governor that the Commission Chair or Vice-Chair be removed from office when, in the judgment of such two-thirds majority, the Chair or Vice Chair has committed nonfeasance (failure to act when there is a duty), misfeasance (negligence), or malfeasance (performance that was improper or illegal).

Secretary

The Commission may, by a two-thirds majority vote at any regular meeting, remove the Secretary from that office where such action is, in its judgment, in the best interests of the Commission. The Chair may fill a vacancy in the office of the Secretary by appointment until the next regular meeting of the Commission.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee will consist of five Commissioners assigned by the Chair for a term of one year. Rules of the committee, as stated in the commission's bylaws, are:

- 1. If any assigned member of the Executive Committee is unable to attend a meeting of that committee, the Commission Chair may appoint another Commissioner to serve for that meeting.
- 2. The Commission Chair shall serve as Chair of the Executive Committee.
- 3. Meetings of the Executive Committee shall be called by the Chair with fourteen (14) days written notice of the meeting to all Executive Committee members and to all Commissioners.
- 4. The Executive Committee shall regularly exercise responsibility for budget oversight, long-range planning, and initial review of all applications for funding and shall make recommendations in these areas to the Commission and the Executive Director.
- 5. Minutes of all meetings of the Executive Committee shall be distributed to all Commissioners prior to the next Commission meeting.

Standing Operations Committees

Per the commission bylaws, there shall be various standing operations committees, corresponding to the major operations areas of the Commission's responsibilities. The standing operations committees may include the following:

Education Outreach Committee

The Commission bylaws state the Education Outreach Committee has responsibility for developing and monitoring education outreach to each county in the state.

Events Committee

The Commission bylaws identify this committee, but do not state its duties.

Idea Review Committee

The Commission bylaws identify this committee, but do not state its duties.

The Commission may establish such other committees from time to time, as it deems appropriate.