

## Governor Susana Martinez Announces 2015 Governor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts Honorees

(September 18, 2015 - Santa Fe, NM) — Today, Governor Susana Martinez presented seven New Mexico artists and art supporters with the 2015 Governor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts at the New Mexico Museum of Art. The 2015 honorees are: Dr. William Clark of Las Cruces, music; Catalina Delgado-Trunk of Albuquerque, papel picado; Vincent N. Figiola of Las Cruces, painting; Virgil Ortiz of Cochiti Pueblo, ceramic and design; Irvin Trujillo of Chimayo, weaving; Edgar Foster Daniels of Santa Fe, major contributor to the arts; and Eric Renner and Nancy Spencer of San Lorenzo, major contributors to the arts.

"Art is woven deeply into the fabric of New Mexico," said Governor Martinez. "These seven artists and contributors represent the best New Mexico has to offer. Together, they are continuing to build on New Mexico's rich and vibrant tradition of arts and culture."

Governor Martinez selected the seven honorees from recommendations submitted by the New Mexico Arts Commission's Selection Committee. The Committee reviewed nominations from arts groups and interested New Mexicans.

2015 marks the 42<sup>nd</sup> annual celebration of the Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts, which was established in 1974 to honor the contributions of artists and their work to New Mexico. A diverse and noteworthy list of painters, weavers, sculptors, dancers, musicians, storytellers, poets, actors, playwrights, and potters have been honored by the Governor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts. Past awardees include Georgia O'Keefe, Robert Redford, George R.R. Martin, Maria Martinez, Tony Abeyta, Glenna Goodacre, Tony Hillerman, Patrick Oliphant, N. Scott Momaday, Tammy Garcia, Catherine Oppenheimer, and others.

This year's Selection Committee was chaired by New Mexico Arts Commissioner Glenn Cutter of Las Cruces. Members included Arts Commission Chair Sherry Davis of Santa Fe and Arts Commissioners Charmay Allred of Santa Fe and John Rohovec of Silver City. New Mexico Arts Deputy Director and Art in Public Places Program (AIPP) Manager Chuck Zimmer also served on the Committee. New Mexico Arts Executive Director Loie Fecteau served on the Committee in a nonvoting capacity.

###

Contact: Mary Ann Hatchitt, 505-827-4378 (office), 505-795-0259 (cell) maryann.hatchitt@state.nm.us